Georgia’s driving under the influence (DUI) laws are strict and can have a significant impact on your life with fines, suspension of your driver’s license, community service and even jail time. Even a first DUI offense can lead to many future complicated legal consequences. DUI convictions remain on your driving record for the rest of your life which may affect future employment or increase your vehicle insurance rates. Retaining an experienced DUI attorney right away is a smart choice when facing the many penalties you may be charged with.
Georgia DUI Alcohol Limits
The DUI blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentages are very specific. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle if the BAC is:
- .08% or greater if the driver of a passenger vehicle is 21 years old or older
- .04% or greater if the driver is operating a commercial vehicle
- .02% or greater if the driver is younger than 21 years of age
DUI Penalty Costs
While penalties may include license suspension, fines, jail time and increased car insurance rates, you will have to complete a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program (RRP) regardless of whether this is your first offense or not. Completion of the RRP costs along with its associated fees can easily be more than $700; completion also includes at least 20 hours of group sessions. These costs do not include any court costs, fines, or fees that you will also be responsible for. Make sure you understand all the penalties and costs you may be facing by talking with a DUI lawyer as soon as you can after your arrest.
First, Second and Third DUI Offenses
The Georgia Department of Driver Services may revoke, cancel, or suspend your license. They may impose steep fines and fees, require attendance at a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program, require use of an ignition interlock device or allow a limited use driving permit. These penalties may be imposed for the conviction of driving under the influence (of drug or alcohol), purchasing alcohol when underage, or for possessing, distributing, or using an illegal controlled substance or marijuana.
- First Offense includes possible jail time, fines up to $1,000, suspension of license for up to one year, 40 hours minimum mandatory community service, completion of a treatment program and a large license reinstatement fee; possible limited license driving permit restricting you to specific places and/or times.
- Second Offense within five years of the first offense include minimum mandatory 48 hours in jail up to one year of jail time, fines up to $1,000, suspension of license for up to three years, minimum 30 days of community service, completion of a treatment program (RRP), use of an Ignition Interlock device (unimpaired breath sample required before car will start) with a court order, license reinstatement fee; possible limited driving permit
- Third Offense within five years of the second offense include minimum mandatory 15 days jail time, fines up to $5,000, revoked license for five years, minimum mandatory 30 days of community service, name/photo/address published in local newspaper, completion of an RRP, and being declared a habitual violator with your license plate seized by the DMV; possible interlock ignition device and limited driving permit after 2 years of time.
Georgia DUI Attorney
Understand your charges. Seek legal advice before making any concessions or statements. Some tests and charges may be dismissed with quick legal action. Call the office of Joel Baskin, Attorney at Law for a confidential meeting to discuss your charges.